A Journey into Learning

 

SunsetMike

Every year, learning is a new journey.

 

See if one of these scenarios fits your learning journey.

  • That curriculum from last year really didn’t work as well as you had hoped and you’re contemplating setting sail for new lands OR…
  • Last year was a struggle for your child at school. You don’t want to leave the comfort of knowing how school works, but it’s just not the destination your child needs.


Either way, homeschooling is unfamiliar, overwhelming, interesting, intriguing, and an adventure.

 

Taking chances, like taking a trip is a life-changer. You are guaranteed new experiences, moments of discomfort, and moments of fun surprises!

 

 

Homeschooling is definitely an adventure.

 

Take a moment and think about all of the worries of changing your course in homeschooling or just starting a journey into homeschooling. Write down your hesitations and fears.

Go.
I’ll wait………….

 

 

Okay, take a look at your list. Do any of your ideas resemble mine?

How do our lists compare?

Oh, I know you were writing about homeschooling changes and the fears and worries associated with it, but I did too.

1. Travel

  • How will I get everything organized, packed, and ready to go?
  • Do I really know where exactly I’m headed?
  • Do I have a place of comfort when I actually arrive at my destination?
  • What does my ultimate destination look like?
  • Why did I choose this?
  • Have I planned for the unexpected or am I just going to wing it?
  • What if the weather changes just as I get started?

2. Money

  • Am I really able to swing this journey?
  • How much will it actually cost my family?
  • Is it really worth the adventure?
  • What if something changes? Can I afford those changes?

3. Logistics

  • How do I handle my time and attention?
  • Where do we go?
  • What do we want to see?
  • Where do we want to visit?
  • What does our itinerary actually look like?
  • How comfortable would it be to deviate from the plan?
  • If my travel companions are bored, frustrated, tired, hungry, or less than enthusiastic, how will I handle it?
  • What happens if we don’t accomplish everything?

4. Unknown

  • What’s it really like?
  • If it’s not my normal routine, won’t it be uncomfortable?
  • What if I don’t like the view?
  • What if there’s bad weather?
  • What if it doesn’t fit my idea of the ideal?

Homeschooling is mostly a journey. Like most of life, it is full of fears and uncertainty, but it’s also full of excitement, anticipation, surprises, happiness, and lots of fun!

 

Take a chance.
Take a trip.

 

You might visit for awhile or you might find yourself deciding to stay.

 

 

 

“Life is a journey, not a destination.”

― Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

P.S. If you need a travel agent to show you all of the cool places, help you avoid inclement weather, and lend some experience, be sure to check us out:

http://www.AtlasEducational.org

 

What do you think?

