Biegun Wschodni_Unsplash

Are you doing what you’re supposed to be doing?

That title is supposed to make you think.

Did it?
Or were you waiting for me to tell you the answer?

 
 

This is one of the biggest struggles we all encounter in our lives.

As a child I was usually told what to do and what to think. Though I often fought it, as the years went by I realized it’s a lot easier to just give in and follow the leader. Unfortunately, it’s exactly what’s dumbing us down. Fortunately for me, I realized how much of my mind was really being wasted and put myself back on the path to recovery.

 
 

Wait for help.

Wait for someone to tell you what to do.

Wait for the right time or circumstances.

 
 

While I’m not advocating we jump into our choices, I’m also reminding you not to wait until someone else comes along to solve your problem. That knight in shining armor may never come.

 
“Are you doing what you’re supposed to be doing?” was a question that I often asked my students and my own children to shift them back on track and re-focus to the task at hand. What if sometimes I was wrong?

 
Out-of-the-box thinking is one of my all-time favorite topics to read about and explore, but the super-imposed structure of schools only left so much time to ponder what’s beyond the four walls of a classroom.

 
Finding out about gifted learning gave me permission to embrace my own creativity again and to add it back into my son’s homeschool education. I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to be doing. I craved more creativity and more mind stretching than I was getting and it made me miserable. Adults fall into this trap, but so do our children.

 
Why is it that as we wrap up our 2nd year of homeschooling, I’m still prodding my son to break some rules or step out of the box? He wants to, but often tells me I might think his ideas are “stupid”. Wow. School really does warp your sense of self.

 
I’m homeschooling my son because I stood by and watched his imagination slowly diminish over his first few years of formal schooling. I watched him give imaginative answers only to be met with more “right” answers winning praise until I began to see him conform-often. I watched my son go from “inventor of a teleporter” to someone who “kind of” likes science. Is it really just part of growing up? Ask Michio Kaku if he agrees. Luckily (?) my own autonomy in the classroom was slowly collapsing and it was time for my exit too. Perfect timing-sort of.

 
Can our society compare to the days of da Vinci, Tesla, or even Curie? Are we limited by regulations and mandates that dictate we stay in the box? Or, are these limits imposed by authorities or self-imposed? What should we be doing that we’re not?

 

Are you doing what you’re supposed to be doing?

 
Or are you dreaming, planning, researching, making connections, making decisions, and taking those steps to lead you to what you’re really supposed to be doing?

 
Only you know the answer.

 
I’m still answering my own question.

2 thoughts on “Are you doing what you’re supposed to be doing?

  1. Must have been my upbringing, and maybe a somewhat enlightened education, but I rarely ask myself that question. Only when I am absorbed in computer stuff, and the dogs are mooning around in a pretend half-starved state.
    I would say to your son “Let the ideas flow, you will be the best judge of whether or not they are stupid. This may not be apparent straightaway!”.

    Like

    1. Since a youngster I’ve wanted to be a teacher. Lately, I’m asking myself “What’s next?” I’m glad you’re open to judging the worthiness of your own ideas. I wish more teachers felt the same. Sounds like you’re a lucky guy!

      Like

What do you think?

