I Never Knew

 

 

I never knew…….

why my questions were so bothersome,

why my ideas were so different,

why my sadness was so painful.

 

I never knew…….

why my love of learning was so enthralling,

why the summer sunshine warmed my very soul,

why my life was so colorful

 

for I was a gifted child-unknown.

 

 

 

I never knew…….

that thoughts came differently for others,

that I could be intimidating,

that learning my way was unimaginable for others.

 

I never knew…….

that my loyalty ran deeper,

that my curiosity ran wild,

that I saw the world through a different lens

 

for I was a gifted teen-unknown.

 

 

 

I never knew…….

some would be jealous of me,

some would take advantage of me,

some would see me as a threat.

 

I never knew…….

some were struggling to be themselves too,

some would share in my quirks and understand,

some were like me

 

until I was a gifted adult who finally knows.

 

 

 

 

*This post is dedicated to my people.
I’ve been waiting to find myself for almost half a century.
Without you, I’m not sure I would have found my way home.*

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I Never Knew

  1. Lisa, I “never knew” either. And that´s so painful. Now, at the age of 41, there´s not much I can do now but help my kids to carry their load.
    Thank you for your enlightening words!

    Like

What do you think?

