C is for Challenges

C

 

Initially, I was in a quandary. Do I write about curiosity, creating, or curriculum? They’re all loves in my life…. and then it hit me! They’re all wrapped up in a haphazard package along with some lint, pens that don’t work, jobs that don’t pay, and topped with a ball of wanna’ be sunshine. I call this glob what it is-a challenge.

A challenge is usually wrapped up with a sticker labeled with a negative connotation. No one usually wants what a challenge has to offer. Ask someone if they’re “up for a challenge” and you can stand back and watch a bundle of nerves begin to quiver. But, challenges aren’t always the wolf ready to pounce, nor are they the walk home in the rain without an umbrella…on a good hair day…in your favorite outfit. Challenges are what make us groan..I mean, grow.

 

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you know that learning is my heart and soul. If I’m not learning, I’m not breathing. Whether it’s internally learning more about myself or sharing my love of learning externally in support of others, I wear it proudly on my sleeve. Challenges? They’re quite the little chameleon.

 

We don’t grow when things are easy, we grow when we face challenges. – Joyce Meyer

 

When your child is bored, he doesn’t need you bailing him out.
He needs a challenge.

When you’re playing your favorite video game and you finally beat it, guess what?
You’re ready for a new challenge.

When you’ve had a blog for awhile and you’re in a rut….
Yep, time for a challenge. (Welcome to my A to Z blogging challenge.)

 

 
Why do we find the concept of challenge so subversive?

Instead of using challenges to grow, we tend to see them as a wall thrown up in front of us intended to make our life more difficult and drag us down.

Challenges, come to us mostly unplanned, yet they serve a valuable purpose-to help us grow. Without growth, we’d stagnate. Kind of like that murky water where mosquitoes like to breed. Ew…

 

 

I recently purchased this book to fulfill my renewed commitment to completing what I start. I always gave up so easily when faced with challenges. Little did I know that I could be the kind of person to actually accomplish those things. So…after a little girl therapy and a whole lot of learning about traits of giftedness along with ways to overcome patterns from childhood, I’m on my way.

 

 

Just wait world, I’m facing challenges these days. Maybe it’s time for a challenge in your world too.

 

 

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.”- Fred DeVito

 

 
 

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib
I wonder what C looks like on another blog…..

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

