K is for Kismet

K

 

Some people believe that everything happens for a reason. Whether you believe in God as I do, or some other power, some of us feel a calling to serve some bigger purpose, or mission in life. We believe we were put here on Earth for a reason (and it’s not just to work and pay bills). It’s not so much a job, but instead more of a pull. Some call it kismet. Whatever the reason or why it happens, it happens. I know. It has happened to me many times throughout my life and never so strongly as in the past few years.

 

You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.
~Steve Jobs

 

Kismet is defined as fate or destiny. It seems to come to me through rough times. It’s a sign pointing me in a new direction, one I’d never choose to take. Instead, I feel broken when it appears out of nowhere, and it guides me always onto a curious path.

 

My first kismet experience came at age 9. I had given up on school the year before and somehow resigned myself to the fact that school wasn’t the glorifying learning experience I’d hoped it would be. By age 8, I was burned out trying to convince the adults in my life that I searched for something more in my life than what they were prepared to give. I was defeated. Then, fourth grade happened.

Sister Sharon changed all of that. She showed me that there are people who understand me, who can see my value, my assets, my joy. She inspired me in so many ways. She doesn’t even realize it, but she is the reason I am a teacher and a guide. She was mine.

 

Unfortunately for me, any hope of a long-term change in education was short-lived,  yet Sister Sharon was still inspiring enough to push me through the next 12 years of schooling (including college). During the years I wanted to give up, I remembered Sister Sharon and how she had inspired me to offer the same opportunity for other children. She gave me purpose. It was kismet that we met. After that year, I never crossed paths with her again.

Years later, I grew cynical. I had my teaching degree and eagerly joined the ranks of those looking for a job. No one seemed interested and yet, I refused to give up. I knew I was supposed to teach and yet, kismet didn’t intervene to make it happen. I eventually ditched my substitute teaching job and moved south. I had a short-lived “kismet-like” passion for country music and it brought me to Nashville. I needed a new start and I found one, plus the teaching job I’d always wanted.

 

Fast forward as I enjoyed many wonderful years of teaching until the bureaucrazy finally got to me. I was burned out on the path of rushing around, barely knowing my children. I was busy, scratch that….I was overwhelmed. Yet, I knew teaching was my path and I wasn’t getting led away.

Kismet was preparing to intervene again.

I was placed into a position that was the opposite of what I needed. I left teaching broken. It had been my lifelong dream to teach. I lived my dream, yet God (or kismet) had more in store for me. I struggled for several years to find my identity again. It had been so wrapped up in my job and when that was gone, I lost myself for quite awhile.

 

As long as we are persistence in our pursuit of our deepest destiny, we will continue to grow. We cannot choose the day or time when we will fully bloom. It happens in its own time.    ~Denis Waitley

 

I started offering my tutoring services. Nothing.
I started blogging more to examine my journey and find a new path.

A few months into my year off, my son showed extreme signs of wear and tear on his love of learning. I had no idea what to make of it, but since I was off (kismet), we started homeschooling. It just….happened.

And then more kismet entered…..my blog.
And then the one that really rocked my world…..giftedness.

 

It was the answer to my son’s struggle and to my lifelong feeling of being different. It was the very reason kismet (or God) intervened in my life 40 years prior. Though I was led on quite a circuitous route, everything I learned along the way led me to where I am now. I firmly believe it was all part of the design for my life.

 

 

These days I’m still homeschooling and blogging. I’m also a gifted advocate and running a gifted adults group with nearly 400 members that I created.

I often think about how things just fell into my life during my times of struggle. Kismet intervened during every storm to point me to my true path and I let it guide me there.

Though I’m not longer in a classroom, my purpose hasn’t changed from the time I was 9 and searching for answers. I’m still that guide, that teacher trying to change the face of education for people like me. And I still believe in kismet.

 

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib
Click here to find a blog created just for you. C’mon, take a chance. Maybe it’ll be kismet.

 

 

What do you think?

